Marmalade Glazed Pork Steaks

Another Donna Hay The Instant Cook recipe – because whenever I cook them they turn out amazing (except this one time when I made lime and coconut rice… yuck.). Not being much  of a meat-eater or meat-cooker, I have avoided steaks when cooking for a few years now. So when I read “pork butterfly steaks” and then checked my local butcher and couldn’t see them anywhere, I felt defeated already. My butcher is really lovely, and he showed me what a butterfly steak was – a Pork Medallion steak cut in half, and proceeded to cut them all in half for me. What a lovely chap.

So wish me luck as I attempt to make pork steaks tonight. I hope they are tender and juicy (how I like my meat), and not dry and tough (how my meat usually ends up).

Ingredients:

  • 4 x 200g pork butterfly steaks
  • 2 teaspoons vegetable oil
  • seasalt and cracked black pepper
  • 1 tablespoon sage leaves
  • 1/3 cup breakfast orange marmalade

Method:

  1. Heat frying pan over high heat.
  2. Brush the pork with oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper.
  3. Add the pork and sage to the pan and cook for 2 minutes each side or until well browned.
  4. Add the marmalade to the pan and cook for a further 2 minutes each side or until cooked to your liking.
  5. Serve the pork on steamed greens and spoon over the glaze. Serves 4.

Health Rating: 442 calories per steak

Taste Rating: will let you know!

I’m planning on serving this with a light mash potato, and Donna Hay’s Eat Your Greens Stir fry Vegetables.

By Tara

Leave a Reply

