Tomato & Capsicum Soup

I orignially posted this on my other blog – but thought it was a good recipe to store and share. It’s a perfect winter recipe, so with this sudden cold snap in spring (I left the house yesterday in my snow jacket!) it might be a good time to bring out the slow cooker and crusty bread!

This little number has been adapted from the CSIRO Total Well-being Diet book.

I simply threw everything in the slow cooker and walked away for a few hours. It turned out really nice though. It used almost a kilo of tomatoes, and only one red capsicum.

Once it had sat in the slow cooker for a few hours (three maybe?) I blended it with my stab-blender and added two basil leaves and some chili to give it an extra fresh kick of flavour. Feeling pretty proud that I grew both the basil and the chili – my thumbs are slowly growing greener (with the help of my mum!).

tomato capsicum soup

Tomato & Capsicum Soup

Ingredients

  • 2 red capsicums
  • 1 brown onion
  • 1 tsp garlic
  • 1 tbsp tomato paste
  • 7 tomatoes (about 700 grams)
  • 2 cups chicken stock
  • basil leaves to serve

Method

  1. Chop all the vegetables into chunks
  2. Toss them all into the slow cooker minus the basil leaves
  3. Leave to cook for three or four hours on high
  4. Blend with a stab blender until smooth
  5. Serve with basil leaves – Serves 4

Health: 137 calories per serve | 573 kilojoules per serve | 1 serve vegetables

Taste: 4/5 Recipe adapted from CSIRO Total Well-Being Diet

Leave a Reply

