Chicken Teriyaki Stirfry

I love stirfry. It was one of the first meals with vegetables that I learned to cook when I moved out of my mum’s house in university. It was one of the meals that I used to default to when it had been a busy day. There was always a jar of Kantong and rice in the cupboard, always a packet of veggies in the freezer – what else did I need, really?

One of the things I’m discovering as I cook more widely, and from more recipe books, is the wonderful variety of simple sauces I can make for stirfries without having to rely on the store bought, pre-made, full of calories and preservatives and salt, varieties. What a money saver!

This recipe was rather simple, it was just chicken, vegetables and noodles. I was meant to use a different type of noodle but with these noodle dishes, I tend to just use whatever I have left in my cupboard. I find rice noodles to be more slippery than egg noodles, but they still did the job.

For this recipe I used:

  • A variety of vegetables – Chinese broccoli, bok choy, celery, capsicum, snowpeas, shallots
  • 150g of chicken per person
  • Sauce was a mix of ginger, soy sauce, Chinese cooking wine and honey
  • Noodles – I used rice noodles when I first made this, but have also made it with rice and soba noodles.

I personally love colourful cooking. If you have a bunch of Asian greens ready for a stirfry, that’s great but throw in a red capsicum! Don’t hold back, add a carrot or two. Happy eating is the best kind of eating, and what makes you happier than seeing a rainbow of fun on your plate?

This Teriyak Chicken Stirfry is tagged as one I will make again and again. Yummo!

Taste: 5/5 | This recipe taken from Michelle Bridges 12 Week Body Transformation

One thought on “Chicken Teriyaki Stirfry

  1. Pingback: Egg Noodles (thin) with soy sauce, tofu, chicken, onion, carrots, coriander, broccoli, peppers. | Chocolate Spoon & The Camera

Leave a Reply

