Lamb with Roasted Pumpkin & Pomegranate Salad

This post was originally blogged on my personal blog about writing, healthy eating and fitness: http://www.hellotheretarajane.wordpress.com as a review of a Michelle Bridges 12 Week Body Transformation recipe. For IP reasons, I can’t actually post the full recipe here but if you want to have a go at a similar recipe you can Google one. 🙂 

Red meat and pomegranate are two foods that I do not feel confident cooking. Here I was again, however, faced with a new dish to try, new ingredients to buy and it was time for me to learn what to do with a pomegranate.

Lamb loin chops sizzling away

I struggle to get the exact cuts of meat that Michelle Bridges specifies in her recipes. I opted for Lamb loin chops as these were easy to find in Coles. Aside from the exact cut of lamb, the rest of the ingredients were incredibly easy to find. This has been so refreshing with the 12wbt recipes. When I start cooking from Jamie Oliver’s 15 Minute Meals, I know I’ll be faced with trying to find chipotle, bulgur wheat and other unknown ingredients again, and I’m not looking forward to it!

Roasting eggplant & pumpkin

The recipe asked to cut the pumpkin into small pieces, but I couldn’t be bothered cutting it that small. That’s the nice thing about nicely done pumpkin – it gets all soft and squishy and tender. It’s the best way to eat it, really. Roasting the pumpkin with the eggplant was also a nice touch. Eggplant is a funny little vegetable. I love eating it, yet am never quite sure what to put it in, what to cook it with etc. I’m glad it made an apperance in this salad.

Lentils and salad waiting for the roast veggies & minted yoghurt

It was really easy to make. The lamb came out really tender and juicy (yay!). The pomegranate was a bit of an adventure, I ended up shattering one half of the fruit with my hands and spent the next ten minutes cleaning up pomegranate juice from every nook and cranny of my kitchen #notmuchfun.

The pomegranate before and after!

I think my favourite part of this meal was the lentils. Three months ago I would’ve never dreamed of adding lentils to anything other than spaghetti bolognaise (it’s a great filler!) but I got so excited to see beans as part of this salad. They really made it filling. The pomegranate was sweet, and the minted yoghurt was a good touch.

The final product: Lamb with Roast Pumpkin & Pomegranate Salad

Taste: 4/5 Recipe Taken From Michelle Bridges 12 Week Body Transformation

Leave a Reply

