Amazing Marinara

This is a variation of a post I did on my other blog whilst doing the Michelle Bridges 12 Week Body Transformation. The recipe below is a variation of her recipe. This post was originally written in March 2013.

I decided to swap my meals around and cook Soong and myself the Linguini Marinara. However, between deciding this and sitting down at the table to eat, I had the disaster of all afternoons.

The recipe recommended I pick up the seafood from a fish monger. That way I would be able to guarantee the freshness and quality of the fish I was purchasing. It takes me an hour to drive from work to home, and along the way I searched and searched the shops passing by for a fish market. It seems that they’ve all dried up and left town! I managed to see one, and swerved across three lanes of traffic to get into the right hand turning lane – only to discover they were actually a fish & chips shop!

My marinara mix straight from the deli at Coles

By the time I got to my local Aldi it was 5:30, almost an hour and a half since leaving work, and by the time I was done in Aldi and got to my favourite fruit and veg shop, they were closed. I was ready to chuck a hissy fit, have a cry, and take Soong out for Thai. In fact, I think even a month ago I would have done this, just blown off the whole shopping trip altogether and just gone out for dinner. Thinking over it now, I’m happy that I decided to go to Coles, although I wasn’t at the time. Coles didn’t have half the things I needed, and it took another forty minutes to do my shopping there and it was all just getting too frustrating for me to deal with.

Boiling the pasta

But I’m meant to be talking about Linguine Marinara.

It was super simple to cook. I really should stop being surprised by how simple the recipes on 12WBT are.

Once everything was chopped, it went into a frypan and just cooked. I barely had to do anything other than chop, stir and make sure it didn’t burn (semi-successful at this). It smelt amazing. I added extra herbs to my dish, I have a dried Italian mix that I love adding to pasta, and I added some cracked pepper to the sauce while it cooked.

Stirring the sauce, enjoying the smells

Ingredients for 4 serves:

  • 600g Marinara Mix
  • 1 packet pasta (we used linguine orignally)
  • 1 can crushed tomatoes
  • garlic
  • 1 tbsp tomato paste
  • 1 onion chopped up (prepare the tissues!)
  • season with mixed herbs and pepper
  • optional: 1 red chilli finely chopped
  • serve with: parsley and parmesan cheese

Method:

  1. Cook the pasta according to instructions
  2. In a non-stick frypan cook the onion and garlic. Then add the marinara mix and cook for about 5 minutes
  3. Add in the can of crushed tomatoes, plus tomato paste and seasonings. Cook on a high heat until the marinara mix is fully cooked through, or until the sauce has thickened.
  4. Serve whilst hot with some parmesan cheese and parsley to garnish.
  5. Optional: you might want to make some garlic bread to go with it!

Bon Appetite!

Once I was able to sit down and eat it, it was beautiful. I love any kind of pasta, and I love seafood, so my first choice at Italian restaurants is always the pasta marinara. Usually I prefer mine with penne, but this was absolutely what I needed after a long, hard afternoon.

One thought on “Amazing Marinara

Leave a Reply

