Satay Chicken – Slow Cooker

By Tara
After Soong received a slow cooker for his birthday, and I discovered a slow cooker recipe book in my Nan’s kitchen drawer, I have every intention of making a few slow cooker recipes. However, I only took photos of the pages I liked from the recipe book on my phone, so I’m uploading them here – mainly so I don’t lose them. 🙂
Ingredients

  • 1 kilo chicken breast or thigh fillets
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 2 heaped tablespoons peanut butter
  • 5 teaspoons soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tablespoon tomato sauce
  • 1 tablespoon sweet chilli sauce
  • 3/4 cup coconut milk
  • 3 teaspoons cornflower (optional)
  • steamed rice and seasonal vegetables* to serve

Method

  1. Cut chicken into strips.
  2. Peel and crush garlic.
  3. Place in the slow cooker with peanut butter, soy sauce, Worcestershire sauce, tomato sauce, sweet chilli sauce and coconut milk. Stir to combine
  4. Place lid on cooker and cook for 3 hours on high
  5. If necessary, mix the cornflower with 2 tablespoons of cold water to a paste and use to thicken the dish. Add salt and pepper to taste.
  6. Vegetables can also be added to the sauce – such as carrots, potato, celery, peas, etc.

Leave a comment